identification of the genus Glycymeris obovata

Use this forum to discuss the Identification of fossils. When adding photo's, please add the size, name of the location, and, if possible, the age.
Plaats reactie
Tahiri
identification of the genus Glycymeris obovata

Bericht door Tahiri » 22 apr 2019, 15:54

Afbeelding

Afbeelding

I am in second year of biology in Montpellier in France!
For this period we must make a taxonomic record on a fossil.
So I chose the species pectunculus obovatus
However, there are mainly two subspecies
-Glycymeris (Chevronia) obovata regeileii
-Glycymeris (Chevronia) obovata Baldii
All this asking me if it's not just Glycymeris obovata, Lamarck, 1819?
I do not end up with all the information I have them and wonder how to distinguish between these three?
cordially
Elisa

Stijn
Contacteer:
Re: identification of the genus Glycymeris obovata

Bericht door Stijn » 22 apr 2019, 19:36

Hi Elisa,

Great that you have a paleotopic in your biology education. But please, as a science student, pay attention to basic taxonomy rules. First of all, Glycymeris obovata is not a genus, but a name of a species (so check the title of your inquiry).
I have never heard of Glycymeris (Chevronia) obovata regeileii, but possibly you are referring to the subspecies ringelei. Is it this one you looking for?

Also, subspecies names are not written with majuscule, so it should be baldii and not Baldii (although, if you go through old papers, it will be regularly written with majuscule, but this refers to a time there was not yet a well established ICZN).